Island Concept

In my Universe of ideas the Complex on the island i have chosen for my environment project is what started it all. About 10 years ago I made a few building out of lego and the idea has expanded since then to a series of building in a complex on an island. I still have the complex that i did my best to make out of lego. I felt it right that i should look to it as part of my research so the idea doesn’t fall too far from it’s roots and make it recognizable.

IMG_0573 IMG_0579 IMG_0575

In the very early stages of making this complex in lego the complex was based in a crater on the moon, then onto a giant ship but as popularity of the Disney fairies franchise grew it inspired me to add a few elements to the idea, one of which being placing the complex all over an island instead of a small space allowing it to work with nature. Since then i have tried to draw my complex but drawing natural landscapes has never been my forte. The concept art I had drew before and during this project gave me a basic idea of where everything was placed and how it interacts with the natural structure of the island.

IMG_3326 IMG_3327 IMG_3328 IMG_3431 IMG_3432 IMG_3433

Unfortunately, most of the decisions to be made had to rely on modelling the island first and then placing the complex in, which lead to a few buildings either being cut out or drastically changed. Removing a building on the back of the mountain, teleportation building, brig, gun and heliport platform.

Leave a comment