Environment Idea

For our second and final project for year 2 we were asked to create an environment in maya. This allows us to show that we are capable of modelling a location, add textures to it and add elements of nature into it. Examples of said elements are water, fog and trees. This brief of this project made me give a lot of thought into what idea I can do. I had many ideas from my universe but unfortunately only a few seemed suitable and had some design ideas. Some ideas that came up were an interior for a spaceship, a near-futuristic city and a fantasy island with a science-fiction complex. Both the Spaceship Interior and City ideas fell through because I hadn’t given much thought into them as much as I did the Island, not to mention most of the designs would be restricted to geometric shapes with mostly metallic textures and not have much room for natural elements. The Island became the best choice for this project because the ideas for it are almost infinite, includes a decent balance between natural and man-made elements and because the island is a natural environment it would allow me to have a challenge outside my comfort zone to model it. One factor that drew me towards the island is because in my universe of ideas, the complex is what started it all, it means more to me and designing it in my art style proved to be a challenge over the years so modelling it would allow me to see it and image it in a new perspective and a new light. The only thing that concerned me was the scale of it would be quite big for a maya project so i had to compromise and cut out a few ideas to make this work, not to mention find a few short cuts in modeling and natural elements. Designing the bird’s-eye-view of the island would be step number 1.

Leave a comment